Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Mount Rushmore National Memorial in the Black Hills of southwestern South Dakota features four presidents: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln.

Conceived as a way to promote tourism in the region, it took the terms of three presidents to complete the memorial. Work began in 1927 during the tenure of President Calvin Coolidge, continued through the presidency of Herbert Hoover, and was completed in 1941 in the third term of President Franklin Roosevelt.

We had visited Mount Rushmore once before, in 1980. The visitor facilities were substantially redeveloped in 1998. The photo below shows the Avenue of Flags which was new since our previous visit:

Of course, the four presidents haven't aged a bit since 1980, and neither have we!

We visited Mount Rushmore late this afternoon, having been at Wind Cave National Park and Custer State Park earlier in the day.

Lights illuminate the memorial after sunset:

No comments: